Magic vs Miracle

I was hanging with friends last night, and I was telling a recent story about my son, who’s 8, and his sudden interest and inquiry into the “real” Santa Claus.

About two weeks ago, my son came up to me and said, “mom if we have a chimney but no fireplace, how does Santa get in?” I said to him, matter-of-factly, “oh, he comes through the front door.” He looks at me puzzled and says, “but how, the door’s locked, he can’t just come in?” I smiled at him, and said “his magic, that’s how he gets in everywhere.”

He stares at my husband and I with his innocent, big brown eyes and says “wait, you guys believe that too?”

Without hesitation I say, “Of course!”

After he walks away, my husband and I look at each other like, did that really just happen? Wow, that was a close one…wait did he just say we’re too old to believe in magic?

Then I whine “no, don’t I get at least two more years?”

Since this incident, I’ve got to thinking…when do we stop believing in magic? Or do we stop? Maybe we just call it something else – a miracle perhaps?

As adults, we understand that a magician’s trick is really an illusion. Magic is not real. But children relate magic to “an unexplained occurrence where the outcome is good.”

Santa Claus, Tooth Fairy, Easter Bunny, The Great Pumpkin (had to throw that in there)

As we get older, we stop believing in magic. However, nearly 80 percent of all Americans, say they believe in miracles. (This statistic was taken from both a CBS news poll and a study “Religion Among the Millennials.”) What each individual’s true definition of a miracle is – I can’t say – but that’s a significant number.

So back to the analogy, magic vs miracles, do we really stop believing?

I can say for myself, I don’t believe in magic and I haven’t since third grade. But I do believe in miracles.

A divine intervention? A supernatural force? A break in the law of nature? Or is it just having hope? I don’t know, and I can’t explain it –  small miracles happen everyday – it’s just magic!

Leave a Reply

