A Simple Life – Microwave-Free

ImageOne of my resolutions this year was to declutter my life.

I started the first week with email. As an email marketer at my previous job, I signed up for everything. I would get about 200 emails a day, most of it was used for competitive research and most of it was also CRAP!

Anyway, now that I am in a new position, I can recapture my precious morning time doing other things (like blogging) rather than skimming through and deleting senseless emails full of advertisements that promise to make me smell better, look better, or get the lowest price today – even though another great offer will appear in two days.

After the digital cleansing, I moved over to the domestic cleansing – the house. As you know, I’m sure, house work is never done. I donated a few bags to Purple Heart but I still have a long way to go. I feel like it’s a revolving door, as you move more junk out, shit comes right back in (especially with kids). Little by little, I will get there, at least that’s what I tell myself.

Then the unexpected happens. Our microwave, which is only a couple of years old, suddenly broke. It’s been a week and I really haven’t missed it. Actually last week, due to the snow storm, we had a couple of families stay with us for a few days and no one really noticed!

So last night, I moved it out of the kitchen, reclaimed my counter space, looked at it a few minutes and decided…what the hell, let’s do without!

I asked my 8 year old son what he thought, and he couldn’t care less. My 6 year old daughter gave the same reaction. Then I asked my husband, “hey, you want to try an experiment? Let’s go microwave-free!” And surprisingly, he was on board right away, his exact words, “sure, you don’t need a microwave, it’s just a convenience.”

Yes nailed it!

It’s now been a week and the transition was easy. I remember in the 80’s when my parents first got one, we were “totally siked!” But as I got older, I’ve always had some weird feeling about microwaves, they just seemed unnatural – something about the radiation part.

Before I decided to go sans micro – I did some research and internal thinking. As it turns out, we are not regular users. Besides popcorn, very few frozen veggies, and heating up leftovers, we rarely used it.

Here are some tips I came across for making this transition, and most of these, I was already doing.

  • Buy fresh foods
  • Thaw meats in a pot of cold water
  • Reheat leftovers in the oven
  • Stove-top popcorn
  • Store food in frig to oven containers
  • Buy a kettle (I use my keurig and love it)

As far as cooking and baking, I’ve always used my oven and in the winter it doubles as an extra heater!

I’m excited about our lifestyle change, stove-top popcorn and fresh tasting leftovers – hell yeah!

What I’m curious about is the reaction we’re going to get from people. I’m sure we’re going to hear a lot of “why?” and “how?” But it’s a decision we made – maybe less convenient – but simple!

2 thoughts on “A Simple Life – Microwave-Free”

  1. I have lived microwave free for about 3 years now and I don’t miss it at all. I believe it is a totally unnecessary appliance! I also use the same methods and tips as you listed. Using a stovetop steamer is also a handy way to reheat food without losing moisture.

Leave a Reply

