The Road

The Road
by Jen Burns

There once was this road
I don’t know where it was leading me to
But I kept going straight
Because I felt it was right.

Every day on the road I’d see beauty – trees, animals, flowers
Then one day, I got tired of the same straight road
I was comfortable with that road
But something was missing.

So I turned
I was afraid
I was courageous
I was free.

I found obstacles
I found determination
I found fulfillment
I found me.

(dedicated to my friend who is taking the turn)

2 thoughts on “The Road”

  1. I often find it difficult to identify with poetry. I am not sure why, perhaps it’s my analytic right-brain exercising way too much control. This poem is very different. It touched me and I thank you for that 😉

    We are all on that road. It’s so much easier to remain on the comfortable and paved path leading us to a destination we can see in the distance. Sometimes, however, we hyperfocus on the destination that we don’t see the beauty and opportunities in our peripheral vision.

    With a plethora of unexplored and sometimes conflicting emotions sitting right off the side of the road (fear, uncertainty, unknown obstacles), it takes a tremendous amount of courage to turn from the safety of the straight and narrow path.

    But, when you do, you have the opportunity for freedom and fulfillment. You do have the power to find the real and authentic you. And that is beautiful.

    Thank you for sharing such a wonderful post and best wishes for an inspired day 😉

    1. Thanks so much Dave! You defined it perfectly. I agree, we are all on that road and we make our choice to stay or turn. I’m glad you liked it. It’s been a long time since I’ve written any poetry 🙂

Leave a Reply

